I think I learned what it is to be a patient man this evening.

Toward the end of the work day I caught the brewing bug, and after some quick recipe formulation I settled on a fairly standard Bavarian hefeweizen recipe, using half malted white wheat, some pils, and Munich for a bit of character. I also opted for a couple ounces of German Tettnanger hops to help balance things out, although with this beer the defining characteristic certainly comes from the Weihenstephan yeast strain that will deliver a fragrant banana and clove aroma. Amidst all of this, I had the foresight (or so I thought) to add some rice hulls, considering what I already knew about the gummy nature of wheat in the mash and how long sparging can take with this kind of grist.

After more than an hour sparge with less than half my brew kettle filled, I felt like giving up watching the torturously slow trickle of wort dribbling out of the tun. I didn’t actually get boiling until nearly 10 p.m., long after I’d started the process. What should have been a pleasant after work brewing experience turned into a tiring brew night. But that’s the way homebrewing goes some times. On the plus side, I had plenty of time to destroy nearly every microbe in my house sanitizing the hell out of all my brewing equipment.

Here’s the recipe I went with:

Single infusion mash at 152 degrees for 60 minutes
Boil volume: 6.5 gallons
Boil time: 60 minutes
Batch size: 5 gallons

OG: 1.053
FG: 1.013
ABV: 5.1%
IBU: 19
SRM: 7

5 lbs Malted White Wheat
4 lbs Pilsner
1 lb Munich
0.5 lb Rice Hulls
0.5 oz Tettnanger (4.8% AA) @ 60
1 oz Tettnanger (4.8% AA) @ 30
0.5 oz Tettnanger (4.8% AA) @ 2
Wyeast 3068 Weihenstephan Weizen

