Tracy'sThings were hopping at Tracy’s Saloon in Minneapolis for the SurlyFest bar release party. Great beer, good food, and very nice company. I covered the event on behalf of Heavy Table, so be sure to check out the story here.

While I’ve hung out in the Seward neighborhood on numerous occasions (usually stopping in to check out the selection at The Blue Nile), I’d never been to Tracy’s before. It was clear to me that this little neighborhood bar, which has been around since 1979, would be a great place to spend a few hours sampling their nice selection of craft beers on tap (a quarter of their offerings are Surly).

Most of the food we enjoyed at the SurlyFest event is not generally offered on the regular menu, but it was a good sign, in my opinion, that Sanjaya and company at the establishment were branching out and experimenting with some bolder dishes. Could mean some great things to come. 

Be sure to check them out if you’re in the area.

