DSC02243The Yeti returns…

I had the fortune of trying the original version of Great Divide’s Yeti Imperial Stout several months ago on draught at The Happy Gnome. A lovely beer. Shortly thereafter, I stumbled upon a bottle of the Espresso Oak-Aged version at Four Firkins, and frankly forgot about it for a few months as it hid in the back of my beer shelf. During a backyard bonfire party, my brother-in-law resurrected it, and I’m glad he did, because it’s one of the better stouts I’ve had in quite some time.

Thick pour into a snifter, big bursting head. Great coffee aroma, like you just walked into a bustling cafe. The oak was very subtle, not too aggressive or overpowering which is what can sometimes happen with these types of beers, like the brewer is trying to make a statement.

The coffee bitterness in the taste is nicely balanced by the deep malt and sweet vanilla oakiness. Some dark fruit lingering in the background. Very thick mouthfeel. There’s a lot going on here, but I think it works well. Highly complex, but understated.

A great sipper by the fire.

Rating: A-

