dsc02058So we got a BBQ smoker recently as a wedding gift, and I’ve been putting it through its paces.

A couple weeks ago for my wife’s birthday party, I smoked four racks of St. Louis style spare ribs over hickory which turned out sublime. Since it was my first time smoking, I wasn’t exactly sure what I was doing, but everything seemed to work out OK as the 20 people at our house kept coming back for seconds.

This weekend, I decided to smoke up a brisket over mesquite, which after a little research sounds like one of the harder meats to cook. Very high probability of it going dry. So this morning I got the coals going in the smoker (I use the hardwood “cowboy” chunks, they burn hotter and give a nicer aroma than coal), and put the brisket on the grill. A couple days ago I whipped up a dry rub and let the brisket marinate, ensuring that all the spicy goodness would soak into the meat. 

The special surprise I’m planning to offer to my guests this evening is my homemade BBQ sauce…a Dark Lord-infused Texas Pit sauce that tastes absolutely fantastic even after just taking it off the stove. Here’s what I used for the sauce:

2 tbsp unsalted butter
2 white onions, minced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup ketchup
1 cup packed brown sugar
1/3 cup Worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup steak sauce
2 tsp cider vinegar
1/2 cup Dark Lord (or any stout of your choosing)

Melt the butter in a regular sauce pan, and add the onions and garlic. Simmer for about 5 minutes, but don’t brown the onions. After that, add the ketchup, brown sugar, Worcestershire, steak sauce, cider vinegar and Dark Lord. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to simmer for about 20-30 minutes. The sauce will thicken up. Store in the refrigerator to further congeal the sauce, and serve as a condiment for the brisket. 

Of course, the main benefit to cooking a brisket and making a BBQ sauce starting at 10 a.m. is the fact that you get to start drinking beer…can’t say I’ve ever had something as extraordinary as Dark Lord this early in the morning, but I’d rather have Dark Lord for breakfast instead of eggs and toast any day of the week.

dsc02059

3 pound brisket flat on top rack, 4 lb brisket flat on bottom rack

