Tomorrow morning marks the beginning of my long awaited Dark Lord weekend…something I’ve been eagerly looking forward to for quite some time now. It’s Munster, Indiana or Bust…my brother-in-law and I are hitting the road around 10:30 a.m., and there’s sure to be some great stories to report back.

Ironically enough, I write this to you as I sit at Gate K13 at O’Hare International Airport in Chicago waiting for my connection back home to Minneapolis, having traveled to Toronto for work today (eh). Why did I not just stay in Chicago for the weekend, you ask? Well, because there’s much more beer fun to be had on the road trip back down of course. Planning to stop in at a couple breweries along the way, including Tyranena just outside of Madison, Goose Island downtown Chicago, and Two Brothers west of the city near where we are staying at my college friend’s home. I’m not sure if we’ll have enough room in my car trunk for all the great stuff we’ll be loading up with (just kidding honey…sort of). 

We’re bringing with us a bunch of Surly stuff to trade, including Furious, Bitter Brewer and Coffee Bender. We also picked up a growler of Town Hall Masala Mama to share or trade with folks down there, since the trading tables are sure to be busy. Three Floyd’s is still not publicly stating how many bottles of Dark Lord each person will be allotted until the morning of the event (which indicates to me they’re anticipating fewer bottles than in years past). But regardless of how many bottles of the legendary Dark Lord I end up coming home with, the adventure will be well worth it and something to remember for many years to come.

I’ll recap the weekend once I come back down from cloud nine.

