dsc01624Decided to brew up my first beer using smoked malts.

I was inspired by Alaskan Brewing Smoked Porter, which is a fantastically well-balanced porter infused with alder-smoked malts. My version uses malt smoked over cherry wood, which compared to the beechwood smoked malt at my homebrew supply shop seemed like a much more robust and complex alternative.

Here’s the recipe I used:

8 lbs. Golden Promise
3 lbs. Cherry wood smoked malt
2 lbs. Munich
.75 lbs. Caramel 40
.75 lbs. Caramel 80
.75 lbs. Chocolate
.5 lbs. Black patent
2 oz. Cascade (60 min)
1 oz. Willamette (20 min)
1 oz Willamette (10 min)
Wyeast 1007 German Ale

I mashed in right at 152 degrees and held it for just about two hours. 30 minutes to sparge, and a full 60 minute boil. Didn’t yield a full 5 gallons, but I decided to just go with what I had versus topping off with tap water. Original gravity reading came in at 1.070, so depending on where this finishes out it will likely be in the 7-8% ABV range.

 I’ll try and take a video of the fermenting porter in the carboy over the next few days.

