I recently stumbled across what appears to be a pretty solid all-grain clone recipe for Surly Furious.

It’s been a little while since I’ve brewed, and I’ve been dying to make a nice IPA to complement my other homebrew creations I recently bottled. So last night I swung over to Midwest Supplies and picked up the ingredients in hopes that I’ll be able to get out into the garage this Saturday and brew it up. Temps are supposed to be in the mid to high 30’s, so I’ll likely be out there in shorts and a T-shirt given the ridiculously arctic weather we’ve had of late. No, seriously…people in Minnesota are weird that way.

Here’s the recipe for a single mash infusion (5 gallons):

9.75 lbs Golden Promise pale malt from Scotland (same used by The Macallan)
1.5 lbs Caramunich I
0.25 lbs Crystal 55
0.5 oz Warrior hops (boil)
0.5 oz Magnum hops (boil)
1.6 oz Amarillo hops (boil)
1.6 oz Simcoe hops (boil)
1 oz Amarillo (dry hop)
2 oz Simcoe (dry hop)
Wyeast 1335 British Ale II

Check out the recipe link above for the specific mash temp and hop schedule, as the Amarillo and Simcoe are metered throughout the boil (a little like DFH 60 Minute). This recipe is supposed to deliver nearly 99 IBUs and an OG of 1.060.

I’ll be getting my yeast starter going tonight so I can be ready to go Saturday afternoon. I’ll try to take some video of the production and post over the weekend.

