dsc00976It’s been a while since I’ve posted a decent review. So I thought I’d get things rolling again with a nice seasonal.

Corsendonk Christmas Ale. This is seriously one of the best winter seasonals I’ve enjoyed. And the commemorative glass it came with isn’t bad, either.

I’d actually never heard of Corsendonk, but based on various Beer Advocate reviews they seem to be a pretty respectable Belgian brewery. Their Christmas seasonal is a Belgian Strong Dark Ale, coming in at 8.5% ABV. Poured with a gorgeous fluffy head and rich mahogany coloring, giving way to a fantastic spicy malt aroma. Fantastic yeast-forward quality. Apparently they brew with coriander, and I’d guess star anise, as it came through a bit in the nose.

The first sip was incredible. Like a less plum-like version of a Belgian dubbel. Very smooth, very rich, and very tasty. Nice toasted malts combined with just a bit of light chocolate, toffee, and candi sugar. A little sweet up front, but finishes nice and dry. If you can find this one, I’d highly recommend it.

Rating: A

