dsc00946If you haven’t noticed, I love Belgian-style ales. In particular, tripels.

I’d been looking for this one for a while, having really enjoyed Boulevard’s Sixth Glass quadrupel and the Saison from their acclaimed Smokestack Series. Both excellent. Their Long Strange Tripel, the third in the series, is right there with them. In fact, I’d go so far as to say it could go toe-to-toe with tripels from Westmalle, Chimay, or Unibroue’s La Fin du Monde. It really is that good.

Poured from a bomber with huge amounts of carbonation producing a perfect billowing head. I sat there looking at the glass for a minute, completely mesmerized by the frenetic activity of yeast sediment and fine bubbles coursing through the beer. Now this is what I want to see when I pour a Belgian.

The nose is fruity, yeasty and sweet, all in perfect harmony. The expected citrus, clove and gingerbread qualities that define a tripel.

Taste is very similar. Very nice, light malt character that imparts a slightly sweet yet dry finish. A little bit of the citrus thing going on combined with candi sugar, but not overly done. 9% ABV isn’t detectable.

With some beers, I look at how quickly I went through the bottle as my final measuring stick of desirability. This one didn’t last long. 

Rating: A

