dsc00858I’ve really enjoyed Stone Brewing so far. I’ve only had a few of their beers, including Old Guardian, Arrogant Bastard, and Cali-Belgique. But I’ll go out on a limb and say they are one of the best craft brewers in the country. Word is they’re coming to Minnesota soon too. Which is nice. 

As is my usual routine during hockey season, I sat down to watch the Wild take on Vancouver the other night (damn Canucks), and made a selection from the beer fridge to keep me occupied for a bit. Ruination IPA struck my fancy this time, one of the many Stone offerings I have waiting for me.  

Just like Pliny the Elder, Ruination popped open with a phenomenal hoppy nose. The bottle says it’s a “liquid poem to the glory of the hop”, and they aren’t kidding. Brewed with Magnum and Centennial, this comes in at over 100 IBUs. It’s really more of a Double IPA. 

Deliciously bitter taste, balanced well with a fully, malty mouthfeel. Loads of citrus, and a nice woodiness. Just a little bit of the 7.7% ABV in the background.

Really liked this one. Alot.

Rating: A

