How do I follow up Darkness Day? With a great brewing day.

My buddy Mills stopped over, and we brewed up a clone of Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA. I was able to get the recipe from Sam Calagione’s book Extreme Brewing, so I know it’s accurate. Only problem I ran into was that the home brew store didn’t have the exact hops I needed, so I subbed a couple. I’m sure it will still turn out very well. Here’s what we used:

12 lbs. 2-row
1 lb. English Amber
0.5 ounce Simcoe in the boil
0.5 ounce Cascade in the boil (subbed for Amarillo)
0.5 ounce Willamette in the boil (subbed for Warrior)
0.5 ounce Cascade at end of boil
Wyeast 1187

Now, here’s the fun part…Dogfish Head’s flagship IPA is named for the unique technique used to create the memorable hop flavor and aroma, continuous hopping. I mimicked the technique, parceling out my 1.5 total ounces of Simcoe, Cascade and Willamette throughout the entire 60 minute boil…one tiny pellet at a time. Pretty tedious, but I got through it. Then I added the last half ounce of Cascade at the end of the boil. I’ll dry hop with 1.5 ounces of Cascade and Simcoe leaves to give it that extra kick. I’m pretty excited about this one, because it’s the first time I’ve used English Amber, what I think gives DFH 60 Minute its distinct toasty, biscuity taste.

While we brewed, we partook in my Oatmeal Coffee Stout and Spider IPA, both noticeably improving with each passing day. I’m very pleased with how both have turned out.

Once I wrapped up cooling and racking the DFH clone into the primary fermentor, I racked my freshly fermented Spiced Pumpkin Ale into the secondary to marinate for a few weeks until Thanksgiving. Man did it smell nice, just like a pumpkin pie (with alcohol). Can’t wait.

