Having met my quota for fantastic beer over the weekend, I felt like I needed to start fresh with something slightly more “normal” than 12% ABV quads. So I turned to Brooklyn Brewery East India Pale Ale. Sent to me by The Vice Blogger, it’s the last in my bunch of uniquely East Coast brews I am unable to easily procure around these parts. You  may recall Dogfish Head 60 and 90 Minute IPAs, and of course Ommegang Hennepin and Unibroue La Fin Du Monde. All great stuff. And Brooklyn’s IPA isn’t any different.

Before I begin…let me just start off by saying that going into tonight’s Monday Night Football contest, I am 50 points behind my fantasy opponent this week. However, Mr. Donovan “The Knee” McNabb, Brian “North-South” Westbrook, and Felix “I’m Just Glad to Have a Job” Jones are starting for me tonight. So, between the three of them, they better come through.

Back to Brooklyn IPA…this is a nice smooth beer. Nice white head with a pumpkin orange coloring to the beer. The hop aroma reminds me of Dogfish Head 60 Minute, but not quite as ethereal. Pretty citrusy and grassy. It tastes like a good English IPA, with sweet malt that doesn’t overpower the hops. The two play well together, and overall culminate in a very drinkable, slightly muted IPA.  I enjoyed this with a nice curried chicken, and it only added to the experience. Makes me curious to try some other offerings from Brooklyn. Maybe when I’m in NY next week for work I can track some down. 

Rating: B+

