Sundays were made for home brewing. Nothing to do except dedicate four hours to making the finest ale this side of the pantry. For me, the anticipation is a little like waking up on Christmas as a kid. Except now instead of a stocking filled with Pez dispensers and coloring books it’s a pot full of boiling Kent Goldings.

Typically, I’ll spend a couple hours researching my next beer. I peruse recipe sites online. I flip through Michael Jackson’s “New World Guide to Beer.” And I think back to certain beers I’ve really enjoyed, trying to figure out how they went about perfecting their product. What malt did they likely use? Did they dry hop? Can I approximate the yeast profile? Any adjuncts? Did they bottle condition?

That’s more or less how I made my second beer, an Oatmeal Stout. I picked up a bottle from Goose Island, and tried to clone it best I could. And it turned out pretty good. But I didn’t really know what I was doing, except that I felt like this whole brewing thing was something I was gonna really get into. A perfect combination of science, process and art. I guess kind of like a good golfer. You need to have the basic mechanics of the swing down, but the really good ones also know when to let feel of the game take over.

So this Sunday is brewing day. And I’m making the pilgrimmage down to my local home brew supply store to try my Oatmeal Stout once again. I’ll let you know how it goes.

