The monks really know what they’re doing.

If you can’t tell, I’m on a Belgian kick of late, and have been slowly working my way through some of the more well-known labels. Chimay has always topped my list. But I’ve never been able to find the Triple. I stumbled (not literally) across a bottle the other day, and had to try it. I was not disappointed.

I purchased the 750 ml bottle, aka “Cinq Cents”, with a 2007 bottling date on the cork. Poured into a stemless wine glass, which is my preferred vessel for these types of ale. Very nice, thick white head with a slow pour. Also a beautiful straw-like coloring. Definitely a medicinal aroma. I know it’s 8% ABV, but I didn’t notice the strength at all. At least initially. Very smooth throughout. A little citrusy and spicy too, which is a nice complement to Chimay’s more deep and earthy Rouge and Grande Reserve offerings. Highly recommended, can’t wait to have another.

Rating: A

